Garden Update

I apologize to my faithful readers for the lack of updates. The past week was busy, though not necessarily interesting for blogging, and I keep getting sidetracked as I try to write my next post. I’m working on a more substantive comparison of my experiences in Malawi and South Africa, which will hopefully be done soon.

In the meantime, I thought I’d show a bit of the yard. We’re midway into the growing season now; the corn is starting to tassel, and our garden is flowering nicely. Though some of our flowerbeds are haphazard mixtures of what we planted and what was there before, and all of the beds are unruly, we have some truly lovely plants out there. For those of you stuck in the dead of winter, here are some photos.

The first is of a funny little flowering shrub; I didn’t get a great picture, but its flowers look like tiny hibiscus.  The second is a flower I’ve seen in Iowa, but I can’t manage to dredge up the name of it.  (Contrary to the photo angle, it is not a disembodied, floating flower!)  The third is a nasturtium.  I think.  And the last, obviously, is the ever-growing, ever-naughtier Dude.

Flowering shrub

Flowering shrub

I dont remember the name of this flower, but I bet my mom can tell you.

I don't remember the name of this flower, but I bet my mom can tell you.

A nice nasturtium

A nice nasturtium

A monster in the garden

2 Responses to “Garden Update”

  1. Eryn Says:

    The flowers are beautiful. We could definitely use some around here. It keeps getting warm and cold and kinda warm and then really cold again, I have no idea when spring will finally arrive.

    Dude is adorable – he looks like he’s smiling in this picture!

    Miss you!

  2. RAchel Says:

    Love the pictures Amy. If they have Kalanchoe over there…might want to keep the Dude away from that one. The Duke got into it over here and ended up with some forced puking.

Leave a Reply

