Back to LLW

AmyinMalawi is, well, back in Malawi.  After a glorious South African holiday, I touched down in Lilongwe early this afternoon.  I asked my taxi driver if anything exciting had happened in my absence.  “Nothing at all,” he laughed.  It’s still rainy, still hot, still Malawi.

Though I intend to post a more thorough report of my travels over the weekend, I thought I would give you a few teasers now.  In the past two weeks, I have:  chilled with big game, visited a traditional Zulu village, dipped my feet in the Indian Ocean, took in my fair share of South African history, had a taste of the Cape’s wine country, and stood at the very tip of the African continent.  I watched Obama’s inauguration from an Irish pub in Cape Town, ate lots of good food, and thoroughly enjoyed the company of Elizabeth, a Cornell/DC friend and my travel companion.

I also enjoyed the little luxuries of the developed world that aren’t available in Malawi:  flush toilets everywhere, showers with water pressure and stable temperatures, multi-lane paved roads without crater-like potholes, cheap groceries, the cheese aisle, Thai food, and washers and dryers.  (I seriously miss doing my own laundry, mostly because I am picky.)  While Elizabeth was busy trying to find souvenirs that looked “African,” I was busy buying up Western things I want but can’t get in Malawi.  On my return, my suitcase was packed to the gills with a printer, several articles of new clothing, a few groceries (including blueberry jam and, yes, cheese), and art supplies.

Stories will follow, but for now I’ll leave you with some photos:

Zebras in the wild

How much fun IS a barrel of monkeys, anyway?

How much fun IS a barrel of monkeys, anyway?

Hello, Indian Ocean!

Hello, Indian Ocean!

Travel companion Elizabeth and me on Robben Island

Travel companion Elizabeth and me on Robben Island

African Penguins

African Penguins

At the tip of Africa

At the tip of Africa

A beautiful view of the Cape peninsula

A beautiful view of the Cape peninsula

4 Responses to “Back to LLW”

  1. Kaitlin Says:

    Ooo! Looks fabulous! Glad you had a fun and safe trip!

  2. Nancy M Says:

    Awesome. Nice to see a new story of your adventures. How wonderful it must be to see God’s creatures outside of a zoo. Take care.

  3. Love Letters to the Middle East Says:

    Looks fantastic!
    I love, love reading about your adventures and the photos are just great.
    You look very happy and quite worldly these days.

  4. Rachel Says:

    Very jealous of the animals you got to see. I love the penguins!

Leave a Reply

