The hills are alive

Though we are just a few weeks into the rainy season, the change in the landscape is extraordinary.  Today, I spent time walking around Bunda’s campus, taking some of the same photos I had taken a few months ago,  as a means of illustration.  I suppose it should feel no more astounding than the coming of spring in the US, but somehow, it does.

First, we have the student farm, before and after the rains:

This is the greenhouse, and I managed to get almost the same angle in both photos!

The little on-campus forest; I walked through this every day to and from the guest house.  I didn’t even KNOW that grass would grow here, as it’s quite shady.

Finally, the fields!  These are not quite the same angle, but in the first photo you can see the fields prepped for planting.  In the second photo, you can see that the corn is already quite tall.  (This corn seems to be an anomaly, however, as most of the corn planted in the countryside is just coming up.)

This is just a view of the countryside; a month ago, it was completely brown.  My apologies for the lack of focus, as this was taken out my car window while driving (and dodging bicycles, goats, and oncoming traffic).   Don’t worry, Mom, I’m being safe.

And for those of you who doubted the presence of the creepy crawlies, here’s a millipede!  They’re scarier when they’re moving toward you on all their little feet.  The scale is ambiguous here, but I’d estimate this millipede to be about 8 inches long.  (Bunda was also a lot muddier than what I’ve seen in Lilongwe; whether they have had more rain or have a less sandy soil, I’m not sure.)

Next up:  farmer nostalgia in the US…and maybe in Malawi.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “The hills are alive”

  1. Kaitlin Says:

    These photos were really cool! I also think it seems really different from winter becoming spring in the US. I think maybe because it’s not like brown grass in the photos but just DIRT (or at least that’s how it looks)… and in the Midwest at least some grass stays green… so the change isn’t so black and white (or brown and green)…
    I feel like I make no sense… oy.

  2. Nancy M Says:

    We’ll see if I am technologically sound enough to send a comment to your blog–first time for everything! I am enjoying your travel reports from Malawi. The photos are so different in such a short amount of time.
    Enjoy the pics of The Dude, too.

    Thinking of you.

  3. pastorron0407 Says:

    Hi Amy
    I just wanted to drop you a note telling you how much we appreciate your Blog. It is fun and exciting for us to experience what you are going through with your writing. I have added your Blog as a link on the Blog that I use here in Davenport. You and your family are in our prayers, keep up the good work.
    Ron Carlson

  4. Rachel Says:

    Green grass. It is so odd how quickly you forget that grass is green, maybe because we only see it green for a few months in frigid land. It is 0 degrees today. And it is only December. I’m off to read the other blog I missed…

Leave a Reply

