Where am I again?

I have just experienced my most stunning moment of cultural displacement so far: I was sitting in my living room, reading the news online and doing a little work, when I heard a strange barking coming from outside. There are lots of dogs in the neighborhood, but this didn’t actually sound like a dog. I listened more closely, and then I heard – in a child’s Chichewa-accented voice – “Who let the dogs out?” And the response of other children, “who, who, who!” It’s like I had been transported back to Lenox High School in 1998. The kids continued the song as they passed by my house; I was actually pretty impressed with their command of the syncopated rhythm.

More later, but I just had to share this now!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

