Photo post

An update on the leaf situation:  after piling the leaves, the workers were using a wheelbarrow to make one big giant pile.  (So perhaps not all is lost for the leaf-leaping students of Bunda.)  I’m not sure what happens next:  at first I thought maybe they were going to compost the leaves, because I saw some workers piling in dirt and adding water.  This was before all the little piles went into the big pile, though, so maybe they were just deterring the leaf leapers.  (Linda, maybe this is why those leaves on the ag quad were so dirty my senior year!)

The monstrously slow internet makes uploading photos difficult, but I have managed to get a few online to better illustrate where I’m living.  (Be pleased with these photos, because they represent a couple hours of battling with the internet.)  Thankfully, it has cooled off here a little, so I’ve been doing more exploring on campus.  Most of the photos were taken on Monday’s cloudy afternoon, though the first one I took a while ago.

This is the road that runs in front the guest house, looking toward campus.  The guest house is to the left of the photo, and campus is ahead and to the right.  The small house on the right is some of the staff housing, and there’s a path beside it that cuts through the trees towards campus.  You can see that most of the trees are still bare here, except some that stay green year round.  The monkeys generally frolic in the trees on the left, but I don’t think any are visible in this photo.  You can see some trash to the left, though; trash here is burned, buried, or just dumped, so campus is not immaculately litter-free free.

Road to campus

Road to campus

This is on the student farm, which is behind the little mountain (west) from my house.  Since I was wandering around by myself, I’m not sure what either of these structures are.  The one of the left, made of unfired bricks, is representative of the houses many of the rural poor live in.  The roof is thatch rather than tin, though I hear that sometimes they lay plastic down before they add the thatch. There were three of these little houses in a row, though I don’t think they are actually being used as houses now.  The shed to the right is made of grass.  Again, I’m not sure what its purpose is, as I didn’t venture beyond the barbed wire.

Buildings on the student farm

Buildings on the student farm

I had a picture of the farm supervisor building here, but I can’t get it to display correctly.  Maybe next time.  Anyway, this is a field prepared for planting.  Once it starts raining, corn is planted in the mounds, and the rows stay in this shape.

Field prepped for planting

Field prepped for planting

These are the little kids that I encountered on my way home from the student farm.  They saw that I had a camera and starting hamming it up.  I’m not sure if they spoke English – they said, “Hi, how are you,” but most people here do – so I ended up gesturing a lot.  I think that they were imitating me in the first photo, actually, because I couldn’t see everyone and tried to crouch down to get a better perspective, so the kids crouched down too.  (I’m guessing I may have also waved my hand to try to get them to unclump, hence all the raised hands.)  In the second photo, the girl in the pink dress was showing off her dancing skills.  Showing the kids the photos on my camera sent them into peals of laughter and they kept posing until I said I had to go.

Kids

Kids

More kids

More kids

In presidential politics news, I still haven’t seen last night’s debate.  It was supposed to be replayed on CNN at 11 AM, so I trotted home to have a side of Obama and McCain with my lunch.  The debate, however, was preempted by “breaking news” that the economy is in shambles.  Really?  This is still BREAKING NEWS?  I’m not sure if the global CNN is worse than the US CNN or if I’ve just never spent much time watching their financial pundits before, but most of the coverage I saw was pretty inane and pointless.  (I did watch for a while, though, because I was hoping they were still planning to break out the debate.  No such luck.)  There’s supposed to be another replay at 6PM, but since the VP debate was preempted last week when I tried to watch it in that slot, I’m not holding my breath.

4 Responses to “Photo post”

  1. Rachel Says:

    I love the way the kids imitated you. Those pictures are awesome!

  2. Karen Says:

    Do you know what crop had previously grown in the corn field? Perhaps, the answers to these other questions will be ongoing. What equipment/tools did they use to make the mounds? How do they plant the corn? Will the soil/mounds wash down during the rainy season? Are crops planted the same way on the student farm as other area farms?

    Do you think the kids are children of students or area residents?

  3. Donna Says:

    Kids and hamming it up for the camera must be universal. I had several such experiences when I was in Vietnam getting Mariah. Those pictures turned out so great!

  4. Linda Says:

    eww, we were playing in purposely dirtied leaves? oh well, it was worth it. also, amazing photos.

Leave a Reply

